Tags

, , , ,

Let me start this by saying that although my skin is far from perfect, I’m overall pretty satisfied with it. I have dry/combination skin, but I don’t usually break out. However, when I DO get a spot, it stays for weeks and weeks at a time. Afterwards, I’m left with scar for months. Literally, months. I’m still concealing scars from blemeshes from December.

So naturally, I try to avoid getting spots whenever possible. Growing up I tried various different skincare routines, and I noticed that my skin is very sensitive. It reacts pretty terribly to a lot of things, and there doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason. I could use a product that works wonders for months, and then suddenly it causes redness and break outs. As a result, I try to switch up my routine and products from time to time.

As a young girl, I used Noxzema (in the blue container!) because that was what my mom used. I switched to various drug store products such as Clean and Clear and Neutrogena because my friends swore by them. Too harsh I think. I even used ProActive

I had one disastrous experience with Origins. After dealing with a few minor breakouts, I took a friend’s advice and went to the Origins store at the mall. The sales woman swore everything was suited for sensitive skin, and I bought several different products from cleansers to toners to moisturizers. I used them for about 3 months and I started getting terrible painful spots that would develop under my skin. Let’s just say I spent a lot of time crying in frustration and that every single product was promptly trashed.  I returned to my drug store brands thinking a little irritation is better than full blown break outs.

And then a miracle happened. I discovered Lush’s Angels on Bare Skin. I love Lush products. I love their soaps, bath bombs, moisturizers, everything. I’m not really sure what led me to try the cleanser, or a better question why it took me so long, but I’m happy I did. It left my skin feeling clean and soft, and it felt great.

Image

Fast forward a little while, and I still love it. Currently, I’m using Arbonne products, though. They were a gift from my mother, and I actually really like them. I’m using the Calm cleanser, and it’s really mild and wonderful. I’d recommend it, and according to the website, it’s $24. Whenever I buy Angels, it’s generally around the same price, so either would work for me.

 

