Tags

, , , ,

Once upon a time, not too long ago, I had read a review online for Hot Tools curling irons. I generally scour the Internet for reviews on products before I buy them for obvious reasons. Why take a gamble and buy a product you know nothing (Jon Snow..) about  when you can read others’ testimonies with a simple Google Search? Anyway, back to my point. I read great reviews about the curling irons, and so I promptly ordered the 1.5 inch curling iron.

Image

It was life changing.

This curling iron did glorious things to my hair. It became manageable. It was voluminous. It was the perfect amount of ‘messy’. I truly adored this curling iron.

Image

By my standards, this is a good hair day.

And then I moved to Korea.

The US and South Korea have different voltages and so I was using an adapter. It worked for a while and then… Well let’s just say it involved several sparks and a severed cord.

Image

Again not the most flattering photo, but I happen to think my hair looks decent despite the humidity.

I keep telling myself I’m going to order a new one with the proper voltage, but I just haven’t gotten around to it. I keep hoping to miraculously find an equally wonderful curling iron in my city, but haven’t had any luck.  The current trends in Korea involve very straight hair or perms (no), so curling irons are a bit hard to come by.  I’m currently using a suspicious looking metal curling iron with no heat settings. This is worrisome for me as I generally curl my hair at a fairly low setting.

Hopefully I can get a new Hot Tool before I accidentally and inevitably burn off all of my hair.

