Tags

, , ,

It’s only been a few days since my last post, and yet there have been some changes in my life!  They may seem silly and inconsequential, but for me they really mean something. In case you couldn’t tell from my earlier entries, I’ve been stuck in a bit of a rut, and I finally finally feel like I’m coming out of it. And just in time.

I painted my nails.

I was really sick for a few months. I had some thyroid problems which left me feeling completely out of sorts. I couldn’t muster the energy to do anything; saying more than one sentence in a row left me out of breath. I lost almost 10 pounds, I was hit with a lot of anxiety, my resting heart rate was around 110 beats per minute, and my hair and nails became incredibly brittle.  All of this started around December, and I’m still dealing with the symptoms. I’ve been taking more vitamins, and started a medication regime. I’m feeling much better, and my exterior is reflecting that. My nails are finally looking healthy enough to take a couple of coats of color. Thank you, Innisfree.

I ate salads twice in the past two days.

Again Tara, really? This is something you’re proud of? Lots of people eat healthy green salads every day. And you put cheese in yours. Well, if you know anything about me, you’d know I have the appetite of an 8 year old boy. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve spoiled my appetite on candy and cookies, and so I would just make an entire meal of the two. And still have a sweet dessert. I don’t eat particularly healthily. In fact I casually made my way through half a Costco box of Lucky Charms on Sunday. Hey, we all have our talents. Mine just happens to be being a bottomless pit of hunger.

So eating a salad not just once, but twice in a row is a huge feat for me. I swore I would eat more vegetables, and I’m really and truly giving it my best effort. I spent a whole lot of this winter being sick and feeling the worst I’ve ever felt, and I’m determined to take my health more seriously.

Image

And finally…I’m going to Europe! (Also, finally something worth announcing, Tara.)

I originally planned on taking a trip to Vietnam this summer, but my plans very rapidly changed. I ended up booking the flight last night. In case you were wondering, it’s 16+ hours of flying, and it cost me an arm, both legs, and any hope of a retirement fund. But that’s not important. What’s important is I talked my parents into meeting me there! I’ll be spending a week in Paris and a week in Ireland. I know it’s not a lot of time, but it feels really special to me.

Once upon a time, I graduated high school and went on a trip to England and Ireland. It was a life changing experience, and I learned that there’s a whole world out there to see. These two countries hold a special place in my heart, and without going too much further into it (this is a whole other blog post), while studying in Paris, I went back to England and Ireland (and very briefly, Scotland). I’m really pleased that I’m going back.

So that’s it! 3 very exciting announcements. I hope everyone else is finding little achievements in their f\day to day life.

