Tags

, , ,

Wow time has been flying over here! I’ve had a lot going on, and I’m finally back in my cozy apartment. I’m typing away from under my covers after a wildly busy long weekend. I went camping which was an interesting experience, and I also played softball. Yeah, two things I didn’t really think I’d be doing at this point in my life.

It all sort of happened randomly, but it was a (for the most part) lovely excursion. It was a nice change of pace, and I always forget how beautiful the countryside can be. It was also mind numbingly freezing at night. I think I woke up every 30 minutes to adjust under my pile of blankets. I was also not exactly the biggest fan of the whole ‘not showering for three days’ deal, especially after an entire day spent under the hot sun. I resorted to an improvised shower with a few bottles of water and some soap. Let’s just say yesterday’s shower was one of the most glorious experiences of my life.

Image

I believe this is Day 3 in the ‘roughing it in nature’ camping trip. Yay for Minions pillow cases.

This weekend was pseudo-athletic at best. I think I played a total of 4 games in two days, and I was so sore after day one that I was embarrassed. There’s nothing like feeling exhausted after a beer league softball game with 40 something year old men to make your realize how incredibly out of shape you are. It was enough of a kick in the butt (and trust me, my glutes are feeling it) to make me want to get back in to some sort of shape.

Image

Still trying to consume less caffeine. Iced herbal tea instead of iced coffee.

Last November I was running 8+ miles and getting ready for a half marathon. The past few months I’ve been doing a lot more lounging around and snacking. Just because I can eat 3,000 calories a day in chips and chocolate muffins and not gain very much weight (or any weight at all) doesn’t mean I should. I know I was really sick for a while, but I’ve been leaning on that excuse for a bit too long. I’m going to attempt to run a few times a week and eat more veggies and less junk. Small steps yes?

 

