Tags

, , , ,

This past weekend was a holiday, and so I took advantage of the extra day and battled the crowds in Busan. Any time there’s a holiday, it becomes quite difficult to actually move anywhere. I managed to snag a spot on the express train to the sea, and my first stop was Haeundae Beach. It was madness. Thousands and thousands of people packed onto the tiny beach and the surrounding streets. I didn’t realize it was the Busan Sand Festival until I finally made my way onto the beach. Actually, the exact same thing happened to me last year. I have great (or terrible) timing, I suppose. Anyway, this year’s theme was apparently a jungle one. Last year it was movies, and there were sand carvings of Titanic, Iron Man, and many many more. It’s really something unique to see.

 

I didn't get to take a full tour around, but I really enjoyed this piece.

I didn’t get to take a full tour around, but I really enjoyed this piece.

I quickly toured the event and then hightailed it to a different beach. I spent the rest of my weekend lounging around and eating entirely too much food. That weekend habit has carried on through the week and I’ve finished eating my 6th muffin in two days. At least they’re mini muffins, right?

 

Puppy love. How can I resist a little guy that runs up right into my lap?

Puppy love. How can I resist a little guy that runs up right into my lap?

I desperately needed a fun weekend away. It’s getting oppressively humid, and I’ve been spending far too much time reading depressing novels. I finished reading Atonement, and since I don’t have a TV, pretty much the only show I watch is Game of Thrones. After the debacle last week, I wasn’t really feeling it anymore. I need some source of uplifting joy in my life. Enter Parks and Rec. I’ve been binge watching that show, and it’s everything I need. It’s short, quirky, and (to me) hilarious. I feel like I haven’t invested enough time in mindless television these past few years.

 

Casting spells roman candle style.

Casting spells roman candle style.

I’ve also been looking up accommodation for Paris. Who knew it would be so difficult? It’s like going to a restaurant and having too many options to choose from. Has anybody visited Paris and stayed in a hotel or apartment? When I was a student there I lived in an apartment in the 15th arrondissement, but I’d like to ideally stay in maybe the 7th or 8th. Anyway, let me know if you have a recommendation.

