Tags

, ,

I always feel a little lame posting TBT’s on social media like Facebook and Instagram. Realistically speaking, that’s the whole point of #tbt, but honestly for me it’s a little unnecessary.

Because I live abroad, and I spend a good deal of my work day on a computer, I’m on platforms like Facebook far more often than my friends in America. I’m uploading photos more often and making more comments, and so I already feel like I’m invading peoples’ news feeds. As a result, I tend to try and avoid making excessive posts. I’m not one to post food photos or daily life updates or selfies. I’m actually a terrible selfie-er. Which is funny because I used to be quite nifty when it came to mirror pics. Remember those?

4823_1081210313792_7597489_n

18 years old. First music festival. First road trip.

Well, since this is my blog and it’s dedicated to whatever I want to post at the moment, I’m putting up this old photo. (That was a long preamble for a single photo).

This photo was taken in summer 2009. Three of my friends and I took a trip down to Tennessee for Bonnaroo Music Festival. That entire trip was fairly spontaneous. I can still remember talking to my friends one random afternoon about how we really wanted to go. And so we logged onto the website and ordered our tickets. And that was that.

In retrospect, I think most of the decisions I make in my life are impulsive. I’m constantly changing thoughts, opinions, and ideas. I’m one of those people who really does change day after day, and looking at this photo proves it. Sure I may look the same on the outside, but I remember my 18 year old self’s mentality, and we’re completely different people. I won’t really get into that here.

Anyway, I really like looking at older photos. They really take me back to the exact moment in time, and I can sometimes even remember how I thought or who I was. It’s also nice to see how, even though it feels like you’re a totally new person, some things stay the same.

 

