Tags

, , , , ,

I have a terrible memory. I think perhaps I’m just not very observant, but regardless, I have a hard time remembering things. I can’t make mental notes, I need to meet someone twice before I can remember the name and the face, and I’m constantly misplacing things. Ask me what I had for dinner last night and I probably couldn’t tell you. Friends and family find it both incredible and incredibly amusing. I find it incredibly inconvenient.

 

I remember snapping this photo on my phone and thinking 'Is this really my life right now?' I'm happy I understood how lucky I was.

I remember snapping this photo on my phone and thinking ‘Is this really my life right now?’ I’m happy I understood how lucky I was.

However, every great once and a while, something will cause a flood of memories and nostalgia. Usually it’s triggered by seeing or hearing something. Today, it was Johnny Flynn’s The Wrote and the Writ. I think I listened to the album A Larum every day while I was studying in Paris, and so hearing that song transports me back three years. I can feel the Parisian autumn air, smell the boulangeries, and see in my mind the metro, the streets, the buildings. It’s such a nostalgic feeling, and I’m so overjoyed that I will be making my way back to that magical city. Even better, I get to introduce it to the loved ones I will be traveling with.

I love how memories work. I love how something as simple as the scent of baking cookies and take you back to a moment in time. Does anyone else feel like this? I’d love to hear some stories.

