Tags

, ,

Ever since I started having thyroid problems late last year, I’ve been really susceptible to illnesses. I guess my immune system is just still worn out. I’ve been trying to make sure I stay on top of my well being because it’s really easy for me to just forget.

I know it sounds silly, but I’m the type of person who lets the way I feel dictate a lot of things. As you can imagine, this can be problematic when you’re getting sick all the time. Eating and living badly, getting sick and eating and living badly, and on and on.

If I’m not feeling well, I’m not going to eat nutritious foods. I’m not even going to eat comfort foods because they take time to prepare. I will literally exist on Hershey’s chocolate and ice cream for days at a time. I will walk into the nearest establishment with food (a bakery or a  7-Eleven) and grab the first thing I see. As you can imagine, this isn’t really conducive to getting better and staying that way.

So, over these past few months, I’ve been making a conscious effort to look after myself. As I mentioned earlier, I stopped drinking alcohol. I’ve greatly reduced my caffeine intake, I’ve been exercising more regularly, and I’ve been eating much more nutritiously. Next time, I plan on going a little more in depth on body image and confidence, but this post is already quite long.

I’d like to clarify I’m not doing anything drastic by normal standards. I’m not eating raw meals or juicing or even cutting anything out. I’m just trying to find a balance where I can feel good and keep these pestering illnesses away.

I will be turning 25 this year, and as I get older, the more important it is to be serious about my health. I know how much better I’ve been feeling lately, and I do plan on continuing. 

