Tags

, , , , , ,

Since I’m a couple of days into the month of veganism, I thought I’d share some of the food I’ve been eating lately. Eating out in Korea is wildly difficult as virtually everything comes with egg, meat, a seafood stock, a chicken sauce, etc. There aren’t juice bars around the city. The supermarket shelves aren’t stocked with varieties of hummus, vegan curries, coconut milk ice cream or faux cheese. So everything that I eat, I make myself, which is a bit of a challenge. (I’m not much in the kitchen).

Quick breakfast of 2 apples + mango juice.

Quick breakfast of 2 apples + mango juice.

This week, I’ve been loving on some (okay a lot of) carbs! I’ve been getting them in the form of fruit, pasta, rice, oats, and potatoes. Coming to Korea has taught me to respect the staples. I used to insist on eating something different for every meal every day. Variety is the spice of life no? But in Korea, lunch always consists of white rice, kimchi, and soup. Every day, white rice, kimchi, soup. I got used to expecting this combo, and it started to be weird when I didn’t have it for lunch. Eating out for dinner would often include, surprise, white rice and kimchi. ¬†It’s been a year and a half, and I still love these foods.

Breakfast ice cream smoothie - 2 frozen banans + 1 ripe banana + vanilla and almond milk and frozen blueberries

Breakfast ice cream smoothie – 2 frozen banans + 1 ripe banana + vanilla and almond milk and frozen blueberries

Now I have no problem eating the same dinner two days in a row or even the same meal for lunch and dinner. Today for instance, my lunch is two vegan burritos leftover from dinner last night. Tonight’s dinner will likely be the remaining burritos, and I will happily eat them. A lot of my meals this week have been pasta dishes with veggies or potatoes with veggies or rice with veggies. I do eat a lot of fruit, especially in the mornings, and I make sure to get in some protein via beans or but butters. However, my main goal is to get in enough nutrients and calories. A day might look this:

Pasta + veggies (tomato, carrot, corn, seaweed, onion) tossed in olive oil and marmite for added saltiness and B vitamins

Pasta + veggies (tomato, carrot, corn, seaweed, onion) tossed in olive oil and marmite for added saltiness and B vitamins

Breakfast: 4 ripe bananas (If it’s yellow, I won’t eat it. I buy yellow bananas and let them sit for about 5 days.)

Snack: Apple with 2 tbsp of peanut butter

Lunch About 1.5 cups of pasta with veggies cooked in olive oil.

Snack: Fruit (apples, oranges, bananas, grapes, etc.)

Dinner: 2-3 veggie burritos (I use the flour fajita tortillas) made with rice, beans, peppers, mushrooms, onions, and garlic.

I also make sure I stay hyrdated as usual by drinking 2-3 liters of water each day.

