Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been trying this vegan deal for almost a month now, and it’s been easier and harder than I expected for different reasons. I previously mentioned the fact that Korea isn’t the most vegan friendly country, but I knew that when i began this journey. I didn’t realize, however, how much my palate has become accustomed to bold flavors and salt or how much I really love microwave popcorn (that sadly only comes in a butter variety). I also never could have predicted how much I would google “Is _____ vegan?”. The list goes on.

Now that autumn has finally settled in, it’s been getting colder, especially in the mornings. Throughout the summer, and when I started going vegan, I would feast on fruit for breakfast. I would go through five bananas or apples, or I’d make a smoothie from frozen berries and bananas. Now that the chill has started, the cravings for a warm breakfast have began. Funnily enough, the desire to stay in bed an extra 30 minutes has also commenced (shock). This problem is normally solved by grabbing a toasted bagel with cream cheese on the way to work, but that’s not happening these days. I DO however have a very large stash of oatmeal in the cupboard that I will break out when my hunger finally outweighs my laziness.

Animals know I've been cruelty-free lately. This pretty lady followed me home the other day.

Animals know I’ve been cruelty-free lately. This pretty lady followed me home the other day.

I love carbs. This isn’t exactly a new discovery, but eating vegan has made carbohydrates the indisputable staple of my diet. Rice, potatoes, pasta, bread, I love and eat all of them in equal amounts. I think I’ve gone through like 2 kilos of rice in the past two weeks. In addition, I’ve realized how much I love seaweed. I throw it in practically everything. I can’t keep enough of it in my house. I don’t add salt when I cook, so seaweed adds the perfect amount for me.

Sometimes you have to be lenient. Whenever I buy something, unless it’s a straight up fruit or vegetable, there really isn’t a way for me to know if it’s 100% vegan. I can ask, sure, but that isn’t really assuring. Last week someone handed me a spicy pork roll, and when I kindly declined because of the pork and cheese in it, they handed me something ‘friendly for non-meat eaters’. I opened it, and saw instead of spicy pork there was Spam, egg, and cheese. I haven’t been eating out, but I have friends who would order things without meat and promptly receive a seafood dish instead.

So yes, it’s been an experience, but it’s 100% been worth it. My energy is up, and I honestly feel good about the food decisions that I make. Whether or not I remain vegan in the future remains to be seen, but I really am enjoying the lifestyle currently. Please feel free to share vegan recipes and your favorite vegan bloggers along with any tips!

