Tags

, , , , ,

The last of the leaves are falling, and the days are getting colder. Things are really starting to feel wintery. Normally, I really loathe this time of year. I’m not a fan of cold weather, and I’m constantly getting sick from being indoors so frequently. However, I have to say I’m actually looking forward to this winter.

IMG_2530

                   Red Leaves ❤

Winter is becoming a time for me to relax. Since I am no longer a student, my work hours are at a normal time. So I’m able to spend my evenings and weekends staying in and enjoying alone time. I read more books, watch more movies, and play more video games. It’s a nice change of pace for me as I’ve always dedicated my nights and weekends to sports practices or after school jobs.

IMG_2542

I think stairs actually make hiking more difficult.

I’m a person who gets flustered very easily. If I feel like I’m running late, I can actually feel my heart pounding as I try and race out the door. If I’m worried about a deadline or an assignment, I’ll stay up in bed obsessing over it. I’ve been taking on various additional projects lately, and I feel myself stressing out a bit more.

My contract also finishes up in February, and I’ve yet to sort out a solid plan for the future. I’ve been tossing around ideas of places to live, whether I want to further my education, and how on Earth to carry on a relationship as an American with a EU citizen (seriously visas. wtf). It’s been a lot to deal with.

IMG_2523

Hats, gloves, scarves, and coats. I actually wear this while I’m at work, too.

Fortunately, when I feel like my mind is going to implode from too many thoughts and concerns, I’ve got a mama to put it all right. I swear it’s like a broken record. I will always call her when I’m upset and she always reassures me in the exact same way. And it always works. Until I work myself up again and call her up. Lather. Rinse…

Can't believe I'm almost done teaching these kiddies.

Can’t believe I’m almost done teaching these kiddies.

Anyway, I’ve decided that this winter is going to be my season. I’m going to use the excuse to be indoors to spend time on myself, to decompress, and to relax. I’m going to sip hot cocoa, read some good books, play Dragon Age: Inquisition, watch Netflix, and try and love this crazy cold weather. Until January. And then I’m going to escape to a warm island in the Philippines for a few weeks. Because seriously, I hate cold weather.

